November 10, 2020 |
, The Barnes Firm
Car accidents happen every day, and if you are in an accident in which you and the other driver are properly insured, the situation and settlement may be straightforward. But what do you do if an uninsured driver hits you?
If you’ve been in a car accident with an uninsured (or underinsured) driver, the situation becomes decidedly more complicated. The Barnes Firm expert personal injury attorneys explain here how to proceed if you have been hurt by an uninsured driver.
Car Insurance Requirements in the State of California
First, you need to know that the state of California requires drivers to have car insurance and holds them liable for damages caused to others in any accident. In California, to register a vehicle, a driver is required by law to have:
- $30,000 per accident in bodily injury/death liability coverage
- $15,000 per person in bodily injury/death liability coverage
- $5,000 per accident in property damage liability coverage.
Of course, that doesn’t mean everyone in California follows the rules, as evidenced by the number of uninsured drivers on the road today that operate their vehicles illegally.
How to Proceed If Hit by an Uninsured Driver
When you are hit by an uninsured driver in California, here’s how to proceed:
- Obtain the uninsured driver’s name and address, photograph their driver’s license and license plate if possible.
- Seek medical attention if needed, even for minor injuries.
- Report the accident to the police and file a police report even if the accident seems minor.
- Report the accident to your insurance carrier.
- Repair your vehicle, particularly if you depend on it for daily transportation (to work, to medical appointments, to school, etc.).
- Never admit fault.
- Do not assume compensation is not available.
- Call an attorney who can guide you through the process and build your case as needed.
- Do not agree to a settlement without seeking your attorney’s guidance.
Filing a Lawsuit Against the Uninsured Driver
While the uninsured driver will likely face penalties from the state of California for driving without proper insurance, this will not provide you with any compensation for your injuries or damages due to his or her negligence.
Choosing an expert personal injury can help you find the best means of compensation for your injuries and damages. Don’t assume the at-fault drivers insurance or lack of insurance determines your settlement. Other sources of compensation could be your health insurance, uninsured motorist coverage, or collision coverage.
Plus, your attorney will investigate your case thoroughly to determine if another party was involved in contributing to the accident (faulty equipment, a missing traffic sign, etc.) and bring a claim against the contributing party as well.
Call on The Barnes Firm for Guidance After Your Accident with an Uninsured Driver
The Barnes Firm’s expert personal injury attorneys are ready to help you after your accident with an uninsured driver.
If you or a loved one has been injured in a crash or other type of accident, let the California law firm’s accident lawyers go over all your options and guide you through the complex details regarding your injuries, damages, insurance, and legal options to ensure you get the settlement you deserve.
Call (800) 800-0000 anytime for your FREE consultation.